Curriculum Design

Download (PDF, Unknown)

Curriculum levels and stages

In primary school we have a duty to provide children with a broad general education that prepares them to think effectively and problem solve solutions in a variety of contexts.  We are to teach the skills necessary for children to find solutions to real world situations.  The broad education we deliver covers the following eight curriculum areas:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Languages (including English, Gaidhlig, Gaelic learners and modern languages)
  • Mathematics
  • Religious and moral education
  • Sciences
  • Social studies
  • Technologies.

Literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing and digital technologies are recognised as being particularly important – these areas are seen as being the ‘responsibility of all’ staff.

Principles of curriculum design

There are seven broad principles that practitioners should take into consideration when planning children’s learning:

  • Challenge and enjoyment
  • Breadth
  • Progression
  • Depth
  • Personalisation and choice
  • Coherence
  • Relevance.

Four Capacities

In addition to meeting the academic needs of our learners, we also work to develop the personal; skills required for life, learning and work.

  • Successful Learners
    • Skills for learning
    • Skills for reflection
    • Skills for thinking
  • Confident Individuals
    • Interpersonal Skills
    • Intrapersonal Skills
    • Organisation Skills
  • Effective Contributor
    • Collaboration Skills
    • Leadership Skills
    • Problem-Solving Skills
  • Responsible Citizen
    • Weigh up environmental, scientific and technological issues
    • Develop knowledge and understanding of the world and Scotland’s place in it
    • Participate responsibly to the life, work and culture of the school and wider community
    • Develop knowledge and fair views of complicated issues
    • Understand, develop and communicate my own beliefs and views of the world.